Featured, Positive Vibes, WOC Safe Space

Meet the Founder

Hey world hey! My name is Sophie but not really because technically it’s Sophonie (Sof-uh-nee). But  honestly I never realized what my full name really was until I learned how to write it in Kindergarten. Anyways, for the purpose of this here blog and any other online profiles I am associated with I go by Soso Royale (There’s a story behind that) which has now turned into Ms. Royale. Being that my 23rd birthday is coming up soon I feel the “Ms.” part is more fitting. Plus once upon a time ago I was a teacher so there’s that.

First things first, I am young Black Creative Writer who has been writing since 11 years old. I am a VERY proud first generation Haitian-American woman. Further, I am a history buff who has a B.A. in Psychology from the 2nd largest university in my home state of New Jersey, Montclair State University. Shout out to MSU!

I am a millennial (hate that word), a Womanist, and I guess I’m woke but I do occasionally take naps because like James Baldwin said “To be a Negro in this country and to be relatively conscious is to be in a rage almost all the time.” When I am not taking naps, I can be found being unpologetically Black as hell.

(For those who are unaware of what a Womanist is, click the link above or just read below for a quick explanation of it.)

Womanist- “Black Feminism focuses on the experiences, needs, and desires of women of color (Aldridge 193). Womanism, like Black Feminism, provides a space for Black women and women of color to create dialogue in a non threatening environment.”

BUT anyways, I am one helluva down to Mars type of 20-something year old QUEEN of many crowns and jack of all trades.

Anyways, I’m in between that phase of a “just” graduate (c/o 2016) but also a young professional who kinda-sorta-really-but-not-actuall knows what she wants but is struggling to get there. To some this may be scary and there are days when it is but I am okay with this limbo phase. So yes, I am a freelance writer! Also, I am the founder, and full time content provider for my blog, She Is Splendid (S.I.S).

Other things I think you should know about me: I am the last child of 7 (sings 7th Heaven theme). Quick side note: My siblings and I used to watch love that show growing up. I’m now the proud Auntie of 7 and a plus 1. Anyhow, I have moved around quite a bit from the age of 3 but I am a Jersey girl through and through. Florida will always have my heart too…and Georgia…and Massachusetts…and Louisiana BUT damn it I hate pumping my own gas! 😦

Further, my Haitian roots run deep which can be seen in most of my more serious writing, my passion for a good Kompa set/playlist, and my instant flipping from English to Creole then to Cringlish all in 2.5 seconds. I am on a mission to heal hearts by way of the talents God has bestowed upon me. I am a lover of God, His people (ALL of them), and most foods too.


As you can see I’ve jumped from topic to topic within this bio so as I’m sure you all can tell I am rather random or if you look at it from a different perspective I am eccentric. A few more facts about moi, I love to laugh so I also love seeing others laugh as a result of my silly antics. I enjoy cooking and consuming carefully cooked food (2nd time mentioning food…). Additionally, I just like to have fun and enjoy everyday as much as possible. I love love love to dance and listen to music. I’m a huge Hip Hop head with a heart for Jazz, and hips for Salsa.

 
If there’s one I want you to leave with about me is that I genuinely find great joy in making others happy or at the very least smile. When you put good into the world, it truly finds its way right back to your doorstep. Trust me, you should try it! 🙂

Serenity, Smiles, & Positive Vibes to all,

Ms. Royale

Leave a Reply

