feminism, feminist, Inspirational Quotes, life, Motivation, Positive Vibes, Quotes, Wednesday: Women of Wisdom, Weekly Inspiration, WOC Safe Space, Womanism, womanist

Quote by Amy Jacques

Quote by Amy Jacques Garvey

Not a quote of my own but I must be homage to the great WOC who came before me. Happy International Women’s Day! I thought it’d only be appropriate for me to share this profound quote from #AmyJacquesGarvey who was the 2nd wife of #MarcusGarvey. The point here is that while historically women have constantly been left out of the full rhetoric of history, black women have significantly been left out of it as well. Even in the women’s rights movement and all that feminism talk, where were all the black women? This is why #intersectionality is so important when you are discussing feminism. This is why so many of us prefer the term #womanist as opposed to #feminist. Regardless I know that as a Black woman I may not receive the recognition that I deserve but I damn sure ain’t gonna let that stop me from being who God brought me to this world to be.

Leave a Reply

