WOC Safe Space

What The Hello Is She Is Splendid?

The Idea Behind She Is Splendid

If you have clicked on this post, chances are you are curious to know what the heck She Is Splendid is all about. Well, I’d be more than glad to answer that question for you. She Is Splendid is an idea I’ve had for a little over a year now in which I wanted to create a safe space where not only can I express myself openly, but I could also share that with the world. When I first created the name of this blog it came out of an idea I had regarding community organizations geared towards the empowerment of young women. I thought to myself how too often young girls are pressured to compete against one another, when in fact they shouldn’t be pressured to do anything. While pressure does make diamonds, I think that it is important to guide young girls into loving themselves, and their fellow sisters in the world. Hence, the reason why the title of this blog is shortened to S.I.S.

Who Is S.I.S. For?

She Is Splendid is a safe space for young and older Women of Color (WOC) from ages 14+ who need encouragement, advice and a place to express themselves. So if ever you would like to submit pieces of your talent with the world, and you want it posted on here I’d be more than willing to share it. If you are shy and want to go under an anonymous name that’s fine too. Likewise, I wanted to offer an area of comfort for my fellow women of color who often go unrepresented in the media, job market etc. While this is simply a blog today, there are many more ideas that I have to move it forward to something much bigger.

Who Else Is S.I.S. For?

Furthermore, while this blog is geared towards WOC, it does not completely exclude other young women or even men. Hence, there will be certain posts that are not specific to what gender one identifies as or one’s ethnic background, but will simply be posted to inspire everyone. However, based off of the societal norm which lacks representation for WOC, I do want to provide a piece of that for those who need it. I hope to expand this blog from just an Internet space to a physical one when the time comes.

What Will S.I.S. Consist Of?

Here at She Is Splendid, you may find posts of articles, videos, poetry, quotes, and maybe even a short story or two depending on how I’m feeling. But, for now have no fear for you are Splendid and splendid is as splendid does. So keep on being Splendid! 🙂

Photo Credit

 

 

4 thoughts on “What The Hello Is She Is Splendid?”

Leave a Reply

